SED navigation bar go to SED home page go to SED publications page go to NIST home page SED Home Page SED Contacts SED Projects SED Products and Publications Search SED Pages

contents     previous     next

5.1 Mary G. Natrella Scholarship Fund

Carroll Croarkin
Statistical Engineering Division, ITL

Veronica Czitrom
Lucent Technologies

The Quality and Productivity section of the American Statistical Association (ASA) has established an endowed Mary G. Natrella Scholarship Fund which will award $ 1000 scholarships each year to two students to attend the Quality and Productivity Research Conference (QPRC).

The fund, originated with a contribution from Mary's husband, Joseph Natrella, and supplemented by the QPRC Steering Committee, was established to honor Mary's 36 years as author, teacher, and consulting statistician and her many contributions to the statistical community.

Mary was a staff member of the Statistical Engineering Division and served as its Acting Division Chief for the two years before her retirement in 1986. Her most important publication, NBS Handbook 91: Experimental Statistics, was published in 1963 by the Government Printing Office and later by Wiley Interscience in its Selected Government Publications series. This book is one of NIST's all-time best sellers and has been selected for inclusion in the forthcoming centennial collection of 100 classic NIST publications.

Mary was elected a Fellow of the ASA in 1981. She was a long-time member of ASTM Committee E-11 on Quality and Statistics; for her work as chairman of Subcommittee E11.03 on Statistical Analysis and Control Techniques, she was awarded the Society's Award of Merit in 1984. She received the Department of Commerce's Superior Federal Service Award in 1981.

The scholarships will be awarded, for the first time, at a special dinner at the QPRC conference in Seattle, Washington on June 26, 2000. Information on applying for the scholarship can be found at

The Mary G. Natrella Fund Committee was formed at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Baltimore in August, 1999. Members are: Karen Kafadar (U Colorado, Denver and former NIST/SED staff member), Eileen Boardman (Colorado State U), LeRoy Franklin (Rose-Hulman Institute of Tech), and Veronica Czitrom (Lucent Technologies), Chair.

contents     previous     next

Date created: 7/20/2001
Last updated: 7/20/2001
Please email comments on this WWW page to